Another Protected Leave for California Employees?

August 4, 2010 0

Many companies voluntarily offer some form of bereavement leave to employees, but that may become a legal requirement for California employers. Bill AB 2340 is making the rounds after being introduced earlier this year. The bill would require all California employers to give three days bereavement leave to any employee on the job 60 days […]

10.8 Million Reasons to Know as Much as Possible About Your New Hire

August 3, 2010 1

This past Wednesday a San Diego jury awarded a mother and daughter $10.8 million in damages for the severe injuries they suffered in a car crash with a Pizza Hut delivery driver. According to an article by San Diego Union-Tribune staff writer Greg Moran, the jury agreed with the plaintiff’s lawyers, who had argued “Pizza […]

State Law Doesn’t Always Count

July 23, 2010 0

California law gives employees many more rights and benefits than required under federal law. For example, in California accrued vacation pay is treated as wages and must be paid out upon termination. The  state of California makes this very clear on their website: “Vacation pay accrues (adds up) as it is earned, and cannot be forfeited, […]