Mandatory Bereavement Leave To Become Law?

June 6, 2011 0

California employers may be on the hook for more leave time benefits. This time, it’s mandatory bereavement leave that is being pushed. The California state legislature is considering AB 325, which mandates up to 4 days of bereavement leave. The death of a spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, or domestic partner would qualify the […]

Get Out The Vote Or Face The Consequences

October 28, 2010 2

Originally posted back in August, this post bears repeating since we have the upcoming elections this Tuesday:No doubt these are very political times and analysts are predicting a record voter turnout for the upcoming November elections. How will this affect your business? Well, the California Elections Code mandates you give employees up to 2 hours […]

A Quick Guide to the Tangled Web of Leaves

August 24, 2010 2

Since the beginning of Kim’s HR Potpourri I’ve concentrated mostly on explaining and untangling the convoluted leave situation, especially for California. Well, I finally broke down and made a cheat-sheet to help out. Here’s my downloadable “Quick Guide to California and Federal Leaves.” Feel free to share!

Another Protected Leave for California Employees?

August 4, 2010 0

Many companies voluntarily offer some form of bereavement leave to employees, but that may become a legal requirement for California employers. Bill AB 2340 is making the rounds after being introduced earlier this year. The bill would require all California employers to give three days bereavement leave to any employee on the job 60 days […]

Don’t Be Guilty of Denying Leave

July 28, 2010 0

It happens to all of us, usually at the worst time: jury summons. A jury summons cannot be ignored (not without unpleasant consequences, anyway), and we can only hope it doesn’t last too long. But it’s an important civic duty, nonetheless, and something to take seriously.

Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Victims Leave

July 27, 2010 0

Employees victimized by domestic violence or sexual assault will usually need time off to appear in court. This type of absence is protected by law and you must allow the employee the time off. Also, if you have 25 or more employees, you must also give time off (up to 12 weeks) to the employee […]